Education is more than just a career

Education is more than just a career to me. Education is about imparting what you have to the next child, investing in their future because I believe the best way to predict the future is to invest in it.

I was privileged enough to be one of the first African student teachers to be a presenter at the AXIS Summit in July 2016. Before the summit, I was exposed to a variety of different schools in South Africa and the United States. Hence I was able to see the difference and managed to use certain ideas that I observed and attained from my time working in schools in San Francisco. The highlight for me was when I opened my email inbox and saw a lot of requests for my presentation slides. It means that the South African education system is changing, slowly but surely, as the young educators are stepping up.

IMG_2361(Kevin Baloyi and COBB School – San Francisco students)

What frustrates me the most is the fact that many parents discourage their children when they decide to go for a career in Education. They always say things like “there is no money there” or “teachers are lazy, they don’t do their jobs”. My question is, if teachers are not doing their jobs, why are the parents forcing their children to go to school? That was my experience as well when I told my family that I wanted to be a teacher.

I was also part of the EdTech Summit Africa 2016, where I got an opportunity to travel around South Africa and Swaziland, training teachers on how to use certain technology tools to make their teaching fun and engaging. I was the youngest presenter on the team of global educators. My focus was gamifying learning. The highlight of the summit to me was during my workshop when I saw the joy in teachers’ eyes as they were playing a game they could use themselves to assess knowledge gained by their learners. My workshop was titled ‘UNDERSTANDING THE MILLENNIAL GENERATION AND GAME-BASED LEARNING’. That was the highlight for me because it means that whatever they grasped during the workshop, it is going to be used. Presenting to hundreds of teachers including those studying to be teachers during AXIS and EdTech Summit, has helped me to develop my own craft while I worked with others.

IMG_6532 (2)(The EdTech Summit team and Judy Tate, Inanda Seminary School Principal)

I got a chance to learn more about myself through this journey because I met different people that have different cultural backgrounds and different teaching styles. I managed to stand in a crowds of people and deliver what I had to deliver. I consider myself as the ‘Global-Minded Educator’ because I am willing to teach and learn from different educators from different places across the globe.

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 2.57.15 PM(Kevin Baloyi presenting at LEAP 1 – Cape Town)

 

 

Author: Kevin Baloyi

Kevin Baloyi was born and bred in Alexandra Township, Johannesburg, South Africa. After graduating from the LEAP Science and Maths School and following a gap year, Kevin joined the Future Leaders Program in 2014 with plans to become a teacher. He is currently working at LEAP in Johannesburg as a student teacher and is a student at the University of South Africa studying for his Bachelors of Education. Kevin was part of a select group of teachers-in-training who traveled to the U.S. in 2016 as a part of a Global Teachers Institute and Teach WIth Africa exchange program studying schools and programs in California. Kevin is passionate about Education and Technology and has taught himself many technology strategies that he plans to incorporate in his teaching. Kevin presented at the AXIS Summit in July 2016, about the importance of the objectives concerning the lesson plan. He was also part of the EdTech Summit Africa in 2016 as a presenter, talking about the Millennial Generation and Game-Based Learning. He recently started a production business, designing logos as well as taking and editing videos.

Leave a Reply

