It starts with you!

13718659_1057240244312170_7298171610852807089_n“The only time you fail is when you fall down and stay down.”
Stephen Richards, Cosmic Ordering: You can be successful

Once you tell yourself that you are a failure, your mind keeps that declaration and you cannot do anything. You will give up easily even on the easy things that you will be doing.

Let me take you back …

I got a higher certificate for my grade 12 but I didn’t give up, I took the initiative to get back up again by writing the exam again at the end of the year. At the end of the year I did well enough to get admission at the University of South Africa. I am currently doing my second year in the Bachelor’s of Education Degree and I teach English, grade 10. I made sure that I excel in my academics and what I do in my class as well. I made up my mind that I want to be the best teacher in the universe and since then I’ve been getting so many opportunities and making the most out of them. I’m able to stand in the crowds and call myself a “Global-Minded Educator” because that’s what I am. I take what I learn globally and implement it in my class. I invest every little that I have in the hearts and minds of the children.

Author: Kevin Baloyi

Kevin Baloyi was born and bred in Alexandra Township, Johannesburg, South Africa. After graduating from the LEAP Science and Maths School and following a gap year, Kevin joined the Future Leaders Program in 2014 with plans to become a teacher. He is currently working at LEAP in Johannesburg as a student teacher and is a student at the University of South Africa studying for his Bachelors of Education. Kevin was part of a select group of teachers-in-training who traveled to the U.S. in 2016 as a part of a Global Teachers Institute and Teach WIth Africa exchange program studying schools and programs in California. Kevin is passionate about Education and Technology and has taught himself many technology strategies that he plans to incorporate in his teaching. Kevin presented at the AXIS Summit in July 2016, about the importance of the objectives concerning the lesson plan. He was also part of the EdTech Summit Africa in 2016 as a presenter, talking about the Millennial Generation and Game-Based Learning. He recently started a production business, designing logos as well as taking and editing videos.

Leave a Reply

